Country Songs

Every now and then I love a good country song. Sometimes they remind me of home. Sometimes they bring out my inner country rocker.

And sometimes I feel compelled to turn the station.

“Is it because they’re repetitive?”

That’s a good guess, but you could say that about any genre of music. I mean, how many love songs did Air Supply write? Nobody was ever like “Alright guys, we get it.” Everybody can relate to love songs.

Maybe that’s why some people don’t like country. They can’t relate to dirt roads, pick-up trucks and craw fishing.

“Or maybe they just can’t handle that twangy country drawl.”

True. But what really gets me is the predictability.

The song’s title is always the last line of the chorus. It’s usually preceded by a pause. It’s always the same.

I’ll give you some examples:

Tim McGraw – “Truck Yeah”
“‘And if you think this life I love is a little too country”
[Pause]
Truck Yeah!”

Deana Carter – “Did I Shave My Legs For This?”
“I won’t get so much as a kiss
As I head for the door, I turn around to be sure
Did I shave my legs for this?”

Taylor Swift-  “You Belong With Me”
“Been here all along
So, why can’t you see
You belong with me?

Willie Nelson – “Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die”
Say I didn’t come here, and I ain’t leavin’
So don’t sit around and cry
Just roll me up and smoke me when I die.

Carrie Underwood –  “Before He Cheats”
“Slashed a hole in all 4 tires”
[Pause]
Maybe next time he’ll think before he cheats.”

Kenny Chesney – “She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy”
“She’s the only one who really understands what gets me
[Pause]
She thinks my tractor’s sexy.”

See. The song’s title is always the last line of the chorus. It’s usually preceded by a pause. It’s always the same.

Don’t get me wrong. Country has it’s place in the music world, but the banality has got to stop.

“Truck yeah it does!”

I’m glad you agree, imaginary listener. And with that, I rest my case.

 

2 responses to “Country Songs

  1. On principle I can’t agree with this, but you already knew that Cass. I think other genres of music do this too.

Leave a Reply

